The light of you.

When the lights go out
And the sun sets in
I look outside the window hoping to see you smiling through
My cigarette burns out and my wine starts getting tasteless
Is the love left or do I still have to prove
Amongst the fields we walked
Around the lake we kissed
All this time I was holding you
Never saw you slip through
I lie on your side each night
To still wish for the smell of you
Every night the moon shone on your face
While my day lit up with you
Since I saw you in the hospital smiling at me
I have tried to stay awake with my life passing by
Tell me dear, do you think it’s fair that you had to die?
You left me here, sad and torn
And I all I have to come back to
Is our beautiful house and the empty bed.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

