I Was In An Abusive Relationship

For anyone out there who has gone through this, please don’t ever give up hope!

Thought Catalog

Love is not enough, it never is. Respect, empathy, selflessness–without of course letting someone walk all over you–are all basic elements that make strong foundation to a successful relationship. Over the past (almost) year I have been in a dysfunctional relationship I never imagined myself being in.

To be honest, I am actually disappointed in myself that I let it go on for this long. I let someone that I love hurt me, walk all over me, and literally break my heart on a much too often basis. I forgave them time and time again because I was blinded, blinded by my emotions. Blinded by the hope I had in them and the lies they told me to give me faith.

I always wondered how women stayed in abusive relationships especially when it came to physical abuse and now I can somewhat understand why. I watched with disbelief as the…

View original post 880 more words

Leave a Reply

