The 40’s

I wish I was born in 1940,

Where the auburn of autumn is my place to be,

Where the happiness of a child would lie in a popsicle,

Where the ringing of church bells would seem like the tinkle of chimes,

Where entertainment would be swinging on my front porch,

Where the wires don’t trip me all the time.

 

I wish I was born in 1940,

When my husband would come home for a kiss,

When my children hold my hand and take me for a walk,

When polka dots and wavy hair would make me fashionable,

When the honking of cars would seem like odd music,

When electricity wasn’t taken for granted and candlelight enjoyed.

 

I wish I was born in 1940,

During the times of war, saving lives,

During distress and tears, to bring upon a smile,

During hatred, to steal a kiss

During lies and fire, to put ice on wounds,

During pain, to hold your hand.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

