Imagine.

There will be times when you will be pushed down, by life, by people. Get up and imagine a world without people. How brilliant it will be, how no one will blame you for mistakes that you never committed, how there won’t be incessant talking in silent places, how there will be no wars. Now while you’re at it, why don’t you also imagine a world without art, without the sounds of babies laughing, without colors, without weird shapes, without someone’s eyes to look into, without someone’s hand to hold. These are the things that make us human. But we’re walking on our own path to destruction. Battles, wars and hatred are all going to kill us soon.

It’s unimaginable to live in a world without love and happiness and sunshine.  Sunshine gives us hope to imagine. Imagination is a beautiful thing; it helps us make our own world. The world where we live without fear, hatred and lies. The world where everything is perfect, where my eyes are never wet, where I’m never cold.  I see my fairytale, and no, it doesn’t have a prince charming in it. It’s where I live in an Enid Blyton book. Where I have a magic garden, where in the evening I eat muffins and drink tea with fairies and elves. Where my things talk to me. Also, I’m not on LSD.

When we were young, we used to think life will be like this. I’m grateful to my mother for having introduced me to fantasies and fairytales. I don’t know if I’ll ever get my fairytale, but I know for sure I will pass down the imagination to my own daughter. I know magic and fairies are not possible but I still hold a hope knowing that one day, I will be proved right. Imaginations now tend to shift towards a world without hatred. Where we don’t live in fear of never being able to see our loved ones, where we don’t have to look around corners everytime we reach one, where my babies are always safe from harm. This is the world I desire but in the midst of countries trying to prove each other wrong, my dreams suffer. My loved ones suffer and my fantasies of a perfect world suffer.

  The smell of freshly baked cakes, the smell of wet grass, the smell of bacon and toast, the taste of brilliant food, the taste of my beloved’s lips, the taste of lemonade on a sunny day, the voice of my children, laughing, the sound of my dog in the morning, the sound of those birds outside, chirping, the feel of his skin against mine, the feel of his fingers around mine, the feel of satin sheets in bed, the feel of warm woollens in winter and the brilliance of the sun. These are a few of my favourite things. 

Leave a Reply

